President Akufo Addo secures second term in office

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has been given the nod to continue serving as Ghana’s President for the next four years.

Flagbearer for the NPP, President Nana Akufo-Addo, obtained 6,730,413 votes representing 51.59% while flagbearer of the National Democratic Congress, John Dramani Mahama placed second, garnering 6,214,889 which represents 47.36% of the total ballots cast and this was announced by Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Madam Jean Mensa today, December 9, 2020.

She stated that the figures exclude results from the Techiman South constituency, which when even added to the national figures would be inconsequential for John Mahama to win the election hence her declaration.

This will, however, be the last time Nana Akufo-Addo will be facing off Mahama in an election, given that the fact that President Akufo Addo will be ineligible to contest in another election, having served two terms.

Leave a Reply

Designed by Freddy Kay
%d bloggers like this: