Political NewsTOP STORIES

Asiedu Nketiah and Fiifi Kwetey win NDC Chairmanship and General Secretary race respectively

Former General Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Johnson Asiedu Nketiah has defeated his former boss, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo to become the new Chairman of the party.

According to provisional results, Mr Asiedu Nketiah who stepped down as the General Secretary after 17 years polled 5,574 representing 65.17 percent to win in a landslide victory.

Mr Ofosu Ampofo trailed Mr Nketiah with 2,892 votes representing 33.81 percent at the NDC’s 10th National Delegates Congress held at the Accra Sports stadium.

Other candidates in the race, Nii Armah Ashietey and Samuel Yaw Adusei also managed 38 and 52 votes respectively.

Voter turnout was 94 percent.

There had been fears that the party will break apart after Saturday’s congress due to Mr Asiedu Nketiah’s decision to contest his boss for the Chairmanship slot.

Meanwhile, One-time Propaganda Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Fifi Fiavi Kwetey has succeeded in his quest to become the next General Secretary of the largest opposition party.

Although certified results from the NDC’s 10th National Delegates Congress are yet to be released by the Electoral Commission, provisional results from the various regions project Mr. Kwetey as the next chief scribe of the NDC.

Mr. Kwetey contested the position together with Elvis Afriyie Ankrah [NDC’s Director of Elections] and Dr. Peter Boamah Otokunor, outgoing Deputy General Secretary of the party.

Here are the newly elected national executives of the NDC.

Asiedu Nketiah – Chairman

Fiifi Kwetey General Secretary

Sammy Gyamfi – National Communications Officer

Joseph Yammin – National Organizer

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: