Celeb News

James Gyakye Quayson wins Assin North by-election with 57.56%

James Gyakye Quayson of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has emerged victorious in the Assin North by-election. He had an early lead in the by-election when the Electoral Commission (EC) started collating the results Tuesday evening.

James Gyakye Quayson

The Electoral Commission at 9:50pm declared Quayson winner of the by-election with 17,245 votes representing 57.56 percent of the valid votes cast. With the New Patriotic Party candidate, Charles Opoku coming second with 12,665 votes representing 42.15 percent.

The Liberal Patriotic Party’s (LPG) candidate Sefenu Bernice Enyonam got 87 votes representing 0.29 percent.

In the 2020 Parliamentary election in Assin North, Gyakye Quayson won with 17,498 votes as against the then NPP candidate Abena Durowaa Mensah’s 14,193 votes.

There were early indications by 6:30pm on Tuesday that Quayson was retaining the Assin North parliamentary seat.

Functionaries from the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) had earlier released some figures projecting the party’s candidate James Quayson was winning.

This threw NDC supporters in the constituency into celebratory mood with many pouring white powder on themselves in jubilation.

We have lost it – NPP Director of IT
The New Patriotic Party (NPP) Director of IT, Eric Ntori speaking at the collation centre to Joy News said the NPP has lost it and that the party will do its home work.

“Things didn’t go well for us,” he said and added the party will go back to the drawing board and come back in 2024 and “snatch” the seat back for the NPP.


There used to be two constituencies in the Assin area of the Central Region – Assin South and Assin North.

Prof Dominic Fobih and Kennedy Ohene Agyapong since 2001 were the two who occupied the south and north seats respectively for three continuous terms for the NPP.

In 2012, the Electoral Commission carved the Assin Central seat and Kennedy Agyapong’s area became Assin Central.

The NDC won the Assin North seat in 2012 with Samuel Ambre.

In 2016, the NPP snatched it from the NDC with Abena Durowaa Mensah.

In 2020, the NDC won it back with James Gyakye Quayson beating the incumbent Abena Durowaa Mensah.

In 2020, the NDC won it back with James Gyakye Quayson beating the incumbent Abena Durowaa Mensah.

Quayson used to be a dual citizen with allegiance to Canada and Ghana.

Prior to the 2020 parliamentary election in the area, he had initiated moves with an application to renounce his Canadian citizenship. But, had not received his renunciation certificate at the time of filing with the EC to contest.

Per the Supreme Court’s interpretation of the 1992 Constitution, since Quayson had not received his renunciation certificate. He was still a Canadian citizen at the time he filed with the Electoral Commission to contest the 2020 election. Hence, he was therefore not qualified.

The 2020 parliamentary election results at Assin North was therefore annulled and the seat was declared vacant.

With his Canadian citizenship renunciation certificate currently in his grip as he received it later before the 2020 election. He was therefore now qualified to contest and so the NDC gave him the nod to re-contest.

The NPP went in for Charles Opoku.

Credit: graphic online

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: